The Hearing and Mom’s Birthday

24 Oct

Mom's 70th
I cannot believe those two things in the title are even connected. Insane!
It has been a while since my last update and posting of information. I guess the good news is the status of the hearing has not changed…yet. A recent check on the Hamilton County Sherriff’s Department website indicates the hearing is still set for this coming Monday. I haven’t spoken with the DA since the last round. I am assuming that means everything is still on.
October 28 is tough and it is two days before Mom’s birthday. It is troubling, to say the least. Mom would have turned 73…
On her 70th birthday we had a most festive party and Mom so enjoyed her time with her friends and family. It was a lot of fun. She told me before the party she had never had a birthday party before. She was excited and was really looking forward to it. She had a great time and there was a lot of fun and laughter! That is a memory I will cherish forever. As I reflect I can see everyone in the room celebrating Mom! Yay!!!
This birthday, on the 30th, I will celebrate her life, and remember all those great times with her and the life she gave to so many!
I plan to visit her gravesites while I am in Chattanooga on this brief visit. One thing she wanted was to have an azalea planted. I think I can plant it now and it should be fine. I must say I feel terrible that I have not planted it before now. As I plant this azalea it will be a reflection of the beautiful life she lived and all those she touched. I will remember all the friends, work colleagues, family that meant so much to her and I will remember your constant kindness!
It will be a productive time and want it to be a positive time in light of the hearing.
Please be in prayer for Monday, for safe travels for Amy, Rachel and Elizabeth who will be in town over the weekend. (Of course, Rachel is already there at UTC.) It will be wonderful to see my sister and nieces. It has been way too long!
I will post again after the hearing to let you know how it turned out. My hope is the judge will sentence him with maximum limits. My hope is that the hearing happens and afterward he gets sent off to the state penitentiary…for good!!!
So, keep praying, celebrate her life…her birthday! She would like that!
Love to you all!
Jennifer

3 Responses to “The Hearing and Mom’s Birthday”

  1. Jane Harris Brock October 24, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

    Thank you for the update. I think about you and your mom so often!

    • justiceforjane October 24, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

      Thank you Jane! You are always so kind and thoughtful! I so appreciate your prayers and your sweet thoughts!

  2. neal harpole October 24, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

    Yes, Jennifer, the fact that these two events are mentioned together is just hard too hard to believe. I don’t know how you and Amy go through this. But lets move on. Safe travels to everyone and am glad you will see Amy and the girls.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

